7 comments on “RTOS for dummies

  1. Miro Samek’s Quantum Platform (QP) is an outstanding choice for embedded systems, most of which are event-driven. The QP can be run with a preemptive kernel (QK), a non-preemptive “plain vanilla” kernel, or even on top of any 3rd party RTOS.

    QP: http://www.state-machine.com/index.htm
    Outstanding book on the platform: http://www.state-machine.com/psicc2/index.htm

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    Similar to (but in my opinion better than)FLIRT is Miro Samek & Robert Ward’s Super Simple Tasker:
    http://www.embedded.com/190302110

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    Netrino’s Michael Barr has a week-long embedded bootcamp which is outstanding. The last day features a discussion on “RTOS alternatives”. I think he offers at least half a dozen different scheduling / platform possibilities.

    Netrino’s Embedded Boot Camp: http://www.netrino.com/Boot-Camp

    • Hey Dan, thanks for your comment and your visit. The Quantum Platform looks really cool, I’m reading about it right now. Michael Barr’s boot camp sounds nice, I’m actually a reader of his blog but hadn’t paid any attention to the boot camp anouncements…I think I will.

  2. Pingback: At last! My motor control MCU! « Embedded Stories

  3. I like reading these… 🙂
    FreeRTOS has seen Huge progress laterly.
    As far as I know, you’ll need at least an S12 for FSL MCUs, but as it is Open Source I’m sure you can find a port somewhere. These archi are not too far away now 🙂
    Cheers, Alban

    • Yeah! I have to give myself time to try FreeRTOS…there’s also a Coldfire port, even for the V1 core 😉

  4. Pingback: More playing around with RTOS, to task or not to task « Embedded Stories

Leave a Reply

